Skip to main content

Greetings from the Dean

Welcome to Laurier’s Faculty of Science. We are a dynamic faculty that has grown rapidly in recent years to a current size of about 4,000 full-time undergraduate and graduate students and 112 full-time faculty members. We offer 31 undergraduate and graduate academic programs across seven academic departments and are home to several leading-edge research centres.

Many of our undergraduate programs take an interdisciplinary approach with an emphasis on the applications of science that address some of society’s most pressing issues and leave our graduates well positioned to begin very productive careers. For example, in 2016/17 we introduced a new BSc program in Environmental Science. We also offer double degree programs that combine two science disciplines as well as double degree programs that combine Financial Mathematics or Computer Science with a Bachelor of Business Administration degree offered by the Lazaridis School of Business and Economics.

Science faculty members are engaged in high-quality research, the advancement of scientific knowledge and the application of that knowledge to real-world problems. They bring their expertise and enthusiasm for research into the classroom. Many undergraduate students find opportunities to enrich their learning through involvement in Laurier research projects or through co-op work experience.

The Faculty of Science is committed to offering high-quality programs in the pure and applied sciences. We share with the rest of the university a commitment to offering students a supportive environment and an enriching experience that prepares them for future success.

Anthony J. Clarke, PhD
Dean, Faculty of Science
Professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Donate to the Faculty of Science

Funding Priorities Give Now

Contact Us:

T: 519.884.0710 x2129
F: 519.884.0464
Office Location: Science Building main floor, N1048, Waterloo campus

Science Building Hours

Monday–Thursday: 6 a.m.–11 p.m.
Friday: 6 a.m.–9 p.m.
Weekends/Holidays: 9 a.m.–6 p.m.

Dean of Science Office Hours

Monday–Friday: 8:30 a.m.–4:30 p.m.